Girl in the Heather

Dedicated to Caitlyn: I gave you worlds, but I only want to live in the one where you are.

You are something special

I don’t know what, but

I’ll say that you are a

sprig of spring, 

a bird that lives

in my chest, my cupboard chest

and whispers to keep my door

open so it may fly around

You are the thing with feathers,

the glow of a dim fireplace

saying Hello, hello, hello

you are the smallest pine needle

on a tree, so ancient

that feeds off of a wisdom,

a glorious radiance, that sounds

within hollow bark:

Girl,

you hide in the bushels of

unpicked heather, a daisy

chain on your head,

smiling in a way

that wants to be found. 

Leave a Reply

