[rec0rd player]

[voice crackles on a record player]

There’s sweat on your nose

[breath is taken on the record]

You blink like a snowflake, but I know you too well

[sigh is taken on the record, a sigh being entirely different from a breath]

Do you ever think about death like I do?

[breath is taken on the record, coughed out in a sharp way that is gasping, dying]

We’re not that alike, you and I.

[voice crackles on a record player]

Do I sound like I do on a recording?

[voice shakes and wavers: it is a candle without religion]

Am I a recording to you?

[something clicks on a record player]

Speak. Speak to me, tell me that I’m alive.

[you pretend not to listen]

Leave a Reply

